St. Mary’s School of Law recognizes outstanding alumni and friends of the university throughout the year for their admirable service to their respective communities, and remarkable contributions to the law profession with the following awards:

Rosewood Gavel Award

The Law School annually presents the Rosewood Gavel Award to an outstanding judge or justice in recognition of his or her contribution to our system of constitutional democracy. The Rosewood Gavel was first presented in 1958.

St. Thomas More Award

The Law School annually presents the St. Thomas More Award to an outstanding judge, lawyer, law teacher, or layman who has made exceptional contributions to legal education, the profession or to government. The St. Thomas More Award was first presented in 1957.

Honorary Law Degree

The highest honor the school can award, over the years, St. Mary’s School of Law has acknowledged superior works by professionals who have given back to St. Mary’s University, or to the city of San Antonio in an impactful, altruistic way.

Distinguished Law Graduate

Every fall, the Law Alumni Association recognizes both a judicial graduate and non-judicial graduate as their Distinguished Law Graduates. These graduates are recognized for their service to their clients, the legal community, and to St. Mary’s University School of Law. The Law Alumni Association also recognizes a Distinguished Young Alumnus/Alumna who is excelling in his/her profession and contributing to his/her community.

The Law Alumni Association began presenting an award to a distinguished graduate of the Law School in 1981. Prior to 1981, the Distinguished Law Graduate was selected by faculty members of the Law School. Proceeds from the dinner fund law school scholarships and alumni-sponsored student services.

Nomination Criteria

The board of directors of the St. Mary’s University School of Law Alumni Association is seeking the names of outstanding alumni for possible selection as a Distinguished Law Alumni of St. Mary’s University School of Law. This award is given annually in three categories: (i) the judicial category – an alumnus/a who is or has served in the judiciary (ii) the non-judicial category – an alumnus/a who is not and has not served in the judiciary, (iii) Distinguished Young Alumnus/a – an alumnus/a who is 40 or under or within 10 years of graduation, whichever is later. To be considered for either category of award, an individual must meet the criteria listed below:

  1. The nominee must be a graduate of St. Mary’s University School of Law.
  2. The nominee must be a person of such integrity, stature and demonstrated ability that the alumni, faculty, staff and students will take pride in and be inspired by his or her recognition.
  3. The nominee must be a person who, in deed and action, reflects and recognizes the importance of his or her education at St. Mary’s University School of Law.
  4. The nomination must be supported by either a written resume or a narrative description of the life experiences of the nominee.

Nominate a Candidate

Back to top